Distorted are our minds!

Standard

Unclear, hazy, fuzzy, imprecise, faint, vague, are all words that can be synonymous to ‘distorted’.
‘Distorted’ is the theme of this week’s photo challenge.
What more relevant theme can there be for the way I feel!

The block that I had in front of me,
the barricade that had stopped me from writing,
from expressing my thoughts,
has been none other than the distorted minds of
my own people – the fickle mentalities!
the irony, the insanity, the treachery of our politicians,
and the puppets that follow their whim!

My mind is going through unclear thoughts & emotions!
What is right what is wrong, I no longer seem  to know!
My mind has been in a distorted mess.
Patriotism I want to blame. My weak heart I leave to rest!
Do I take the flowers and run?
Or should I try to make the seller pure the way I want?

Image from Dhaka City - taken from a rickshaw ride

What my country is going through is a fuzzy time!
Who is right, who is wrong, what should be done,
nobody seems to know!
Everyone seems to have only a vague direction.
February 7th we saw a humble resignation.
February 8th we saw brutality of the ‘new’ government.

February 8th - upfront and upclose, military brutality - It was one hell of a day!

February 24th we saw the divide of the country.
None seem to be seeing the other half.
Everyone only sees their side, their opinion,
no yielding whatsoever!
And on that same day we saw the “puppet” President
taking sides in the open!
In some interviews he says he had no idea of what transpired,
had no idea the President resigned under duress.
He even went ahead and say that had he known,
he would not have sworn in as the new President! Duh!!!
What type of a clown is he trying to be???!!!

The clown standing in the children's park "Skippy" - to me is equivalent to our current educated President.

March 1st we heard the unyielding voice of the oppressed.
March 1st we also saw the parliament running wild.
March 1st we also saw an uncompromising “illegitimate” President.

Maldivian Flag at the Republic Square in Male' - not sure what this stands for right now

This flag has lost its meaning.
The unity it stands for is now hazy and faint.
Imprecise is the ideology and unity we should stand for.
Our vision is distorted and sees colors only in a blur.

There are so many ways to look at something.
We humans only choose what we want to see.
Me included!
For instance, today, I want to see the thickness of the trunk,
and therefore I look at the tree from this angle!

Pine trees stretching as tall as my eyes can see. From a stroll in the campus of my University back in Perth, Australia

Grow up people, and stop distorting the picture!

======================================================
The following is a video from the political situation in our country.
I am just appalled at the distorted minds of some of our politicians!
Umar Naseer is totally pathetic!

32 thoughts on “Distorted are our minds!

  1. Selective reception and selective retention – true Amira! And often we end up with a distorted view or opinion of things. Relevant post! Beautiful pictures!

    • hmm
      that’s a nice way to put it.
      “selective reception and selective retention”
      guess our politicians are all infected with that syndrome :D

      thanks

  2. Hi Amira .. hope you are doing well.. i missed you and your fantastic writing.. it has been quite long i dint check out .. awww :-(… oh wow… what an amazing photography and writing… my favorite click is the tree .. i loved the way you looked at tree and captured it.. its mind blowing…

    fuzzy times :-(…

    puppet is cute… :-):-)

    awww flag:-(… your writing has powerful emotions
    :-):-)

    • hi khushbu. nice to see you again.
      my favourite is also the tree. Those trees are not too thick or FAT :)
      but that day for some reason I was looking at how the trees gave such shade and and ended up taking that image … I have loved it ever since.

      thanks for the lovely words as usual.
      I miss reading your post. I guess you are too busy these days!!!???

  3. demonsking19

    Sorry its been a long time and i have been away from wp and ur blog
    but after reading ur post i feel ur emotions , they have been hurt and u r not the only one who feels like this, we all have been going through same time, i will say dont belive in politics,but i will say
    the person who have been waiting for to bring the change is u ourself !
    just listen to the song , its a urdu one but u will understand the most of the words innit and i hope after listening it u will see the hope for the postive

    • what a wonderful song :) nice video too
      very uplifting.
      “haamosheeka boycott”
      I like that :)

      thoo dheykthaa hai phar boalthaa nehee
      thoo soachthaa hai phar boalthaa nehee

      that’s just how many of us are in this political turmoil we are going through. the more people start to talk the quicker things will start to move I guess.
      “phar piyarey signal par tho rukh” – i like that line.
      I guess we all shoud know where we have to stop and let go and where to keep fighting :)

      thanks for the lovely comment nalaik fanni dear :)

      • demonsking19

        hahaha actually this singer has another song relating to politics and the disturb situation .
        well yeah it is my most fav line of the song
        per piyare signal per tu ruk :)
        i knew it u gonna love it
        But the best thing about the song is
        khud band qamar tu q darta ha ?
        phir dekh khuda kia karta ha
        this indicates to the proverb
        God Helps those who help them selves

      • demonsking19

        this one is also like the previous one but its a hilarious one,. the video of the song is awesome .
        message is u keep on believing on the politicians while a politican is such a person who promises to build a bridge even there is no river .
        dont keep any hope from the politicans and the system that it will change,
        do it ya self B-)

      • that’s another great song Fanni.
        Totally cool.
        I like it. enjoyed it. Thanks for the cheer :)

        as the song so cleverly shows the country is going through a crisis always. political drama is never ending :)

  4. Amira, A great post with mixed emotions. LOL at “What type of a clown is he trying to be?!” He is a disgrace to the educated elite. Loved that tree, feel like hugging a tree. :) The best video featuring “Umarunator” the Super Hero who happens to be a pathetic commander too :P Love it. :)

    • hehe. I was also LOL after writing that. It just took 15 minutes to write that piece. It just flowed and later I felt a bit bad equating our dear President to that clown. But sadly that’s just how I feel these days. But I’m sure he has a lot of love for this country … under pressure people do things that’s a bit unorthodox too..

      But I really do hope everyone goes in for a negotiation for the betterment of this country. I cannot stand to see us go to the fundamentalist movement. I cannot stand for extreme westernisation either.
      We just have to educate our public to think with their brains instead of with someone else’s.

      Ah yes UMAR just rubs me the wrong way.
      I call him odiganbaa. I will never vote for him or any party he is involved with – that much I know :)

  5. I’m so sorry you’ve had to go through all this. Unfortunately, most politicians seem to be clowns. The world needs more people like you who care enough to speak out for what is right. I’ll be hoping it all works out.

  6. I am distressed for you and the good people of Maldives who are suffering during all this unrest. I hope things will settle down in a good way before long. It’s stressful for everyone when situations are so topsy-turvy in the top seats of the government.

    On another note, your photos are great. I love the pine tree trunk…awesome angle! Your words, as always are wonderful. And it’s a perfect interpretation of Distorted.

    • thanks for the nice words Judy. I love that angle of the tree too. :)

      The situation really is distressing. This needs to settle down for us to move forward.

    • thanks ElizOf
      am trying to be as calm as possible.
      But the turmoil in my mind is just too much at the injustice of the whole thing.
      trying to be safe :)

leave a thread to follow :) merci

